Bernd Ludewig

The A.SK Social Sciences Award 2019 has been awarded every two years since 2007. Endowed with 200,000 USD, it is one of the world’s largest in the social sciences. 

Former recipients are the economist Sir Anthony Atkinson (University of Oxford), the legal scholar and philosopher Martha C. Nussbaum (University of Chicago), Transparency International (Berlin), the economist Paul Collier (University of Oxford), the developmental economist Esther Duflo (MIT), and the political scientist John Ruggie (Harvard).

The price recipient is selected by an international commission chaired by Dorothea Kübler, director of the WZB's department Market Behavior.

In autumn 2018, the WZB has opened the call for nominations for the A.SK Social Science Award 2019. The call can be found here.

The call for applications for the A.SK Fellowships 2019 can be found here.


Dr. Katrin Schwenk
Office for Networking and Development
fon: +49 30 25491 535
mail: [at]

Preisrede: A.SK Social Science Award 2017 für John G. Ruggie